Todd Bentley: Seven Steps to Open Heaven

On October 21, 2011, Todd Bentley posted this “how to,” or “do it yourself,” article on how to open Heaven.  I won’t torment you with doing a shot-by-shot run down; I’ll give you an abbreviated version.

Here’s how to open Heaven, according to dominionist and false prophet, Todd Bentley:

  1. Develop a holy hunger for His presence.
  2. Turn on your soaking music and quiet your mind – this is what brings the presence of the Lord.  You must practice “the presence.”
  3. Repent and be obedient.  Repentance opens Heaven and obedience keeps it open.
  4. Fast, pray, and lament!  This will open Heaven.
  5. Give those tithes and offerings!  Tithing and offerings will open Heaven.  If you don’t like step 3 or 4, just pull out your checkbook or credit card, slick willy around those two steps and pay the admission fee!  That’ll open the doors of Heaven for sure.  Don’t be stingy, though – Heaven will open FAST if you give extravagantly!  But, don’t just give tithes alone – that won’t open Heaven.  It has to be tithes AND offerings!
  6. Practice contemplative spirituality (prayer)…..THIS will open Heaven.  If you don’t know how it’s done, 17th century Roman Catholic mystic, Brother Lawrence, can teach you how.
  7. Do something nice for someone.

So, if we condense all of this, basically what Bentley is saying is that if you turn on your soaking music, empty your mind, and practice “the presence,” that will open Heaven.  Then you must repent because that opens Heaven.  Don’t forget to be obedient, because once you repent and get Heaven open, you want to keep it open.  You can only do that by being obedient.  Wait… how do you do that when you’re trying to keep your mind empty?  Oh, man… Heaven closed back up.  Let’s start over….

Repent and turn on the soaking music … no, turn on the soaking music and then repent.  Clear your mind.  Start practicing “the presence”…. now be obedient and….

Okay, turn on the … turn on the repent and soak in the obedience…

Forget it.  Just write a check and hop on a glory cloud.  It’ll be a lot easier!

I answered this false doctrine with sarcasm because it deserves no more than that.

For Biblical insight and a sound rebuttal of Bentley’s brand of theology, please click here.

This entry was posted in Dominionism, New Apostolic Reformation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Todd Bentley: Seven Steps to Open Heaven

  1. Sarcasm is allowed, when exposing unbiblical and ungodly behavior…and your version was quite entertaining too. ;)

    Keep up the great work, Chrystal. You are a blessing.

    Always in Jesus,

    -Rich

  2. Denise says:

    Thank you for the good laugh tonight, I surely needed this.
    :)

  3. SLIMJIM says:

    It is a tragedy that this guy has left his wife, committed adultery and had an affair, and some people can still follow his “ministry”…how is he able to tell people to be Holy????

  4. Street Preacher says:

    Practice the Presence? What? I have to practice getting in to the Presence of the Most High God? Now that most concerning. I was let to believe that the Bible says that God is everpresent and the Jesus Christ, my Saviour and Lord will never leave me or forsake me. Poor Todd, really one should weep for that man.
    We need to pray for people like Todd and all his company and ask the Lord to bring them to repentance.
    I felt like writing a stinging rebuke…….but for the Grace of God.
    Pray that the Lord will call out the remnant and that Jesus Christ would be Glorified and lifted up.
    Come out and be seperate.

  5. turtletruth says:

    Great post Chrystal! Ohhhh I cannot stand this man….demonic bologna he teaches!

  6. Ruitje says:

    Not a word about Jesus Christ or God the Father, only ‘his presence’ and ‘the Lord’… Which presence? Which Lord?

    It makes me think of someone else who wanted to climb up to heaven, his name is Lucifer. So it is no surprise from which source mister Bentley gets his teachings and revelations.

  7. Grant says:

    Hey what about Jesus, didn’t He do something to open up Heaven?

  8. Grant says:

    There’s a Bible verse in something called
    2 Cor. 5:21 that I guess you could say is the 1 step to an open heaven and it involves this wonderful Savior Jesus

  9. ray says:

    Someone tell me that there aren’t nit wits still around that might be tempted to buy into this stuff.
    Bentley the snake oil merchant, the guys a living , breathing and walking abomination.

  10. mywordlikefire says:

    It just keeps coming. In opposition to Scripture, it just keeps coming.

  11. Chrystal, I love the sarcasm! There’s nothing like humor, to make a serious point.

    I can’t believe there are still people who take Bentley and his ilk seriously…..didn’t that Lakeland debacle teach them something? Oh no, wait–maybe the second, or third, or fourth, time will be the charm, as they say. These people are as bad as those who say ‘the Catholic Mary’ lets sinners in the backdoor of heaven, if Jesus won’t let them in the front door! SHEESH!!

  12. ali says:

    It amazes me that there is so little discernment within the ‘church’ that people would continue to follow this man and give credibility to anything he has to say.

    The remnant grows ever smaller day by day by day and the narrow road less traveled as many stumble and fall for such heretical teachings from so many within the ‘church’. One would expect this from the world, but sadly it is not the world but the church that stands in opposition to the teachings of our LORD.

    We must be as wise as serpents, as harmless as doves.

  13. Ruitje says:

    Bentley is just trying to sell his own soaking cd’s… Because you need soaking music to come into the presence.

    When I was involved in the charismatic world I was together with some people who wanted to do some soaking. They had a cd from Todd Bentley. While the cd was playing they were all soaking, but somehow I could not join in. I think God protected me to be influenced by this false spirit. Six months after that event God opened my eyes to see what was wrong with Todd Bentley and I left the charismatic group.

  14. Kiwi Dave says:

    @ Chrystal Athough sarcastic, your comments demonstate in a simple and practical way how an unconverted follower of Todd Bentley and other NAR practitioners (I wouldn’t call them believers as this is all New Age superstition) would quickly get confused by these silly “steps to heaven” or instuctions to “open the doors of heaven”. Of course, if they read their Bibles they would be aware of this basuc truth, and not need any “instructions” from Todd Bentley:

    “Then said Jesus unto them again, Verily, verily, I say unto you, I am the door of the sheep. All that ever came before me are thieves and robbers: but the sheep did not hear them. I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture. The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” John 10:7 – 10 KJV

  15. I clicked on the link which brought me to the Fresh Fire USA Ministries site. I wanted to know more about how to open the heavens. When I was looking at it something caught my attention. The paragraph which talks about “Tithing and Offering” as a part of opening the heavens is way bigger than the “Repentance and Obedience” one.

    So, I will only be able to open the heavens as long as I pay my tithes and offerings. This is even more important than repentance and obedience. I think that Bentley knows that if he would emphasize the R&O paragraph, people might asking the question why he left his wife and kids to start an adulterous relationship with his nanny. This thing is not an example of Repentance and Obedience.

    The fact that this conman still have followers is beyond me. This guy is a fraud which easily equals a greedy and non-conscience banker.

    I’m glad that I don’t have to pay to open up heaven but that someone else has already paid for me so that I will be able to get into heaven. And I rather want to get into heaven to be with my Saviour, The Lord Jesus Christ, and have a modest life, than an extravaganze life now of paying for my blessings, and getting into hell because of not really knowing and following Christ.

  16. Lady D says:

    “Just write a check and hop on a glory cloud”- Bahhhahhhahhahhah!!!

  17. BARRY says:

    Nothing new here,Simon the sorceror up to his old tricks.

  18. Likeflint says:

    2nd Peter 2:3 says “and in their greed they will exploit you with false words; their judgment from long ago is not idle, and their destruction is not asleep”. The KJV actually says they will make merchandise of you. I wonder how much more deception people like this would be capable of if they resisted the temptation to “fleece the flock”? Still, they do, and it works. A family member of mine told me he gives $100 a month to Benny Hinn Ministries. And this person is well versed in the Word and I can tell you his children need the $$ more than Mr Hinn does. Incidently I recently wrote an entry on my blog about the verse I used here, called “Plastic People Plastic Words”. Funny how things fit together sometimes, many people bending their plastic (debit/credit) cards for merchandisers who don’t need the dough.

  19. Maynard Sweigard says:

    Not all charismatic’s are mindless twits. Some of us are doctrinally sound, and Christ centered. We belong to good churches, live honorable lives, quietly tend to our calling and don’t waste time on trying to find out what’s wrong but focus on what’s right. Light drives out darkness and truth is stronger that falsehood. God always wins! Win souls for Christ, teach the word full council of God, expose the heretics when necessary but don’t waste too much time on that or you will neglect what you should be doing.

Comments are closed.