Ted Haggard in Celebrity Wife Swap

Ever seen the show Wife Swap?

Celebrity Wife Swap isn’t much different.  According to an article in the Colorado Springs Gazette, Ted Haggard, disgraced pastor of New Life Church, is now filming an episode where he will be swapping wives with actor Gary Busey, who, according to the article, is an active minister with Promise Keepers.  Ahem!  Yeah.

The premise is simple: Haggard and Busey will swap partners for a short time. The first couple of days, the men make the rules for their new “spouses.” After that, the women take charge. The fun could come from the conflict between Haggard and Sampson, who’s reportedly a spiritual woman but not a fan of organized religion.

On the surface, it might seem like an unlikely pairing, but there are several surprising parallels between Busey and Haggard. Busey is a born-again Christian and active minister with Promise Keepers, and Haggard has returned to the ministry as pastor of St. James, a new nondenominational Christian church in Colorado Springs.

I find it amazing how loosely they define “born-again Christian.”

Can we say, Biblically speaking, that either one of these men represent the Christian church?

(HT: Jeanne Zettel)

This entry was posted in Current Headlines, End Times and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ted Haggard in Celebrity Wife Swap

  1. A resounding “no”. I also always find it redundant to say “born again Christian”.

  2. SLIMJIM says:

    One wonders when Ted Haggard would learn to live away from the spotlight…with interviews and now this, I have to wonder how repentant is he to still want attention.

  3. nathan says:

    How is it that Haggard is a pastor again? After what happened isn’t he disqualified?

  4. eli says:

    @nathan: I was wondering the SAME THING. In his own words (that I read on Yahoo Friday) that he would label himself as “bisexual”. Worse yet, who are the folks that are giving him a following? I like to hope that Gary Busey is born again, but the fruit says otherwise. As for Haggard, clearly he has no shame. and its probably for the money.

  5. Doug says:

    From the article:
    “The show is scheduled to shoot Thursday at the GLBT Pride Center in Colorado Springs.”
    huh?
    If Busey has become a Christian, wonderful for him-but if I were in his shoes, I would stay as far away from television cameras as possible.

  6. Rev's Kate & Rich M. says:

    This should be interesting. K

  7. Mike says:

    @nathan….Right on. He IS disqualified in the eyes of true believers but anyone following him surely has some wires crossed and is suffering from what I have termed “DDD” (discernment deficit disorder). In fact, I was just sharing with a friend today about my concern for so many who are well-intentioned believers but just don’t seem to want to crack open a bible and weigh what some of these “teachers” are saying against the absolute standard of Truth….the Holy Scriptures.

    It surely is troubling. I am pushing bible study and telling my students to pray for discernment constantly. I teach for the bible college (just satellite classes at my church) here in SoCal and I am often amazed at some of the things I hear. I was speaking to a guy the other day who has attended my church for a long, long time and my pastor is a straight-shooting, gospel-preaching, bible-believing preacher and often touches on the subject of false teachers as well as the false doctrines of cults such as JoHos, Mormons, etc., and this guy I was talking to was telling me about his “born again” Mormon friends. He is convinced they are born again because they told him that Jesus is Lord. Yes, they’ll tell you that but they’ll deny His deity and so much more. This guy is a classic example of one who suffers DDD even though the truth is pushed so hard at my church. It’s just baffling but is another sign of the times.

    In His service,

    Mike

  8. ray says:

    If I were Haggard, I wouldn,t be letting his wife get out of sight, she might just realise that there are decent , God fearing men out there that would treat her with respect , unlike the humiliation that she has endured at the hands of her lowlife , sleazebag of a ” husband”.

  9. TPR says:

    My first thought at seeing this headline was: Don’t these “Christian” men have anything BETTER to do with their time?! :-/

    How edifying is wasting time in a garbage TV show? Just the title itself — “wife swap” — is anti-biblical. DDD INDEED.

  10. I would hardly call Ted Haggard a christian. This guy doesn’t care how low he has to stoop all for the “Love of Money”

Comments are closed.