Rick Warren: Those Crummy Blogs!

Whewee!  Rick Warren’s becoming a Mr. Cranky Pants!

If you follow Warren’s Twitter feed, you’ll see that he has become very caustic lately.  Remember when he insulted Chris Rosebrough, Ken Silva, and Ingrid Schlueter?  Mmmmm hmmmmm.  Me too.  Well, check this out.  Here’s one of his latest tweets:

I’m thinking he’s not feeling the love right now.

If we read between the lines, I think Warren’s saying some people in the blogosphere are on his naughty list.  They must be doing something right.  I mean, it almost seems like they’re starting to get to him, doesn’t it?

Wonder who he’s talking about?

He just needs a group hug.  Okay everyone, on the count of three….

This entry was posted in Purpose Driven and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Rick Warren: Those Crummy Blogs!

  1. Perhaps he got around to reading wee lil’ ole me’s piece from a month ago: http://airo-cross.blogspot.com/2010/10/pelagian-rick-warren-teaches.html

    It has attracted some interesting characters to be sure – maybe one of them is Mr. Warren himself.

    p.s. I like how he has nothing to say in defense of his theology except to degrade those who call him to the carpet. I mean, if you can’t beat ‘em, ridicule them. :-/

  2. p.s.s. I guess not having a degree or being a CEO of a church megabusiness qualifies me or anyone else having an ounce of discernment and a Bible to have no credibility.

  3. Beracah says:

    I for one won’t read between the lines and assume he’s talking about our favorite ‘rescuer of the sheep’ blog. However, I wish he had the integrity to list the specific blogs he’s talking about. That could get interesting. Making a generalized statement like that without listing the specific ones, lends no credibility to his whining.

  4. Annunk says:

    I’ll never forget the excitement I felt when I had the ‘Purpose Driven Life’ book. (An IHOP person had given it to me as a gift.) I don’t mean to toot my horn too loudly.. but the excitement was almost tangeble as I threw it in the bin.

    Chrystal, I agree. 1……. 2…….. 3……… Big group HHUUGGGGGGG!!!!! Oooooo! If only the Ricker could have been in on THAT! I can just visualize it now…..

    My goodness! All the thrills I’ve been getting due to Rick Warren here lately.. What comes next?

  5. I don’t usually like to deal with Warren’s stuff, but I did have to blog about this one (as I did yesterday) because this just keeps coming up over and over. The man’s actions aren’t consistent with his words. While looking him up on twitter I find his profile says this:

    “I love Jesus radically so I love & pastor my flock, love&mentor young leaders, love&serve other pastors, love doubters, critics & the hurting. ”

    He loves his critics? With what he has tweeted lately he shows a funny sense of understanding what love is. Maybe his version of love comes from “The Message.”

    “You don’t get to chose who you’ll love, forgive & show respect to if you claim to follow Jesus.It must be everybody.”

    Right. Loving your critics with posts insulting them, degrading them, insinuating they have no credibility. That’s loving everyone?

  6. What I find even more creepy about Mr. Warren is that he spends so much time on twitter – look at his posting frequency – and he obviously is checking to see what everyone is saying about him. That’s freaky. Like an inverse stalker.

  7. The guy never quits. Rick Warren tweeted previously:

    “Humility is admiting the reason you dislike some people/pastors is because you envy them. “Love is NEVER envious”1 Cor 13:4″

    Could it be that Rick’s tweets are because he is envious of you and wants to be like you Chrystal, or Ken, or Chris, or Ingrid?

    Let’s see if he makes the jump from envy to humility!

  8. Don’t you just hate it when someone dislikes the use of biblical discernment? Keep up the good work.

  9. Truthinator says:

    How dare anyone point out the Relevance Pontiff’s scripture twisting … and without a degree and all…

    As far as degrees go, I have an MBA and that is valued above anything else in megachurch land so I should be an expert…no?

    Thanks for posting this expose’ piece.

  10. Rev's Kate & Rich M. says:

    Hee hee! Maybe finally he will learn to shut-up about his own baloney doctrine and start preaching God’s word–won’t that be a prayer answered?

    He needs a real job instead of leading the sheep astray full-time with his horse crap! Don’t get this watchwoman started, boys…

    Stay off-line Mr. Warren, sir, and study to show yourself approved unto God–and until you’ve got it right, then maybe your light will shine and make a difference; especially to the lost–for whom, apparently, you have no preference or desperation.

    Now, go ahead, make my day, pal!

    Rev. Kate

  11. SLIMJIM says:

    I think he should actually consider whether these bloggers have something biblical to say about his ministry…

  12. Jennie says:

    Jesus didn’t have a degree….:)

  13. I believe that as long someone is a Christian and faithfully studies the Bible, then their concerns about false teachers is worth listening to. One does not need a huge church, creative and innovative teachings and methods, a degree, a large following, etc to be worth listening to.

  14. RevNev says:

    I find it most unfortunate that this type of caustic comment is made in the public domain, where everyone may read it. If we have an issue with a brother, let us approach him personally and seek dialogue. Please be aware of the damage that relational violence causes in the lives of ‘weaker brothers’.

  15. Carolyn says:

    Here are a few verses that will put pompous posturing into perspective.

    Galatians 2:
    6 As for those who were held in high esteem—whatever they were makes no difference to me; God does not show favoritism—they added nothing to my message.

    1 Corinthians 3:18-19
    18 Do not deceive yourselves. If any of you think you are wise by the standards of this age, you should become “fools” so that you may become wise. 19 For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God’s sight. As it is written: “He catches the wise in their craftiness.”

    1 Corinthians 12:21-23
    21 The eye cannot say to the hand, “I don’t need you!” And the head cannot say to the feet, “I don’t need you!” 22 On the contrary, those parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable, 23 and the parts that we think are less honorable we treat with special honor

    Luke 16:14-16
    15 He said to them, “You are the ones who justify yourselves in the eyes of others, but God knows your hearts. What people value highly is detestable in God’s sight.

    Men value this fallen world in all its lusty enterprise. God values His creation and its redemption. And the heart must be humbled enough to receive Him.
    Halelujah! What a Saviour! Christ plus nothing!

  16. Truthinator says:

    To RevNev:

    RevNev, I would think that more damage is done when we give an endorsement to the likes of Rick Warren by remaining silent…

  17. Carolyn says:

    Amen, Truthinator!

Comments are closed.