Forever and Ever, Amen!

Dr. Stephen Davey

Dr. Stephen Davey

I sleep with the radio on.  It’s a habit I developed as a small child and have been unable to completely break free of in my adult years.  I keep the radio tuned to Bible Broadcasting Network, and as I was waking up this morning, I heard a minister teaching against the Prosperity Gospel, among other heresies.  I wanted to sleep in this morning, but when I heard this minister, I was wide awake.  Taking his passage from Revelation 5, the main point of his sermon is worship in Heaven, but it leads into the error of the Word of Faith doctrine, as well as the new age theology of those such as Oprah Winfrey and Marianne Williamson, among others.  Thankfully, because I have the day off from work (MLK’s birthday), I was able to lay there and listen.

He made a couple of very good points.  He likens the “positive confession” of the Word of Faith movement to the principles taught by such new age pundits as Marianne Williamson, Eckhart Tolle, and Rhonda Burns.  He touches upon the theology of Copeland and Meyer that says we are little gods, and their “name it and claim it” doctrine, and links it to the universal “law of attraction.”  That got my attention and brushed the cobwebs out of my eyes. 

What I really liked about this preacher was that he not only focused on their erroneous doctrine, but he named names.  Many preachers are willing to teach against aberrant theology, but refuse to peg the ones doing the false teaching.  Davey is not afraid to warn his flock (and his radio audience) of the poison being circulated in the church.  In this sermon, Marianne Willamson, Oprah Winfrey, Eckhart Tolle, Rhonda Burns, Joyce Meyers, and Kenneth and Gloria Copeland are shown no mercy.

Now, I don’t know much about Dr. Stephen Davey, this is the first time I’ve ever heard of him; but I like what I heard.  It’s refreshing to hear error exposed.  His broadcast comes on at such a time that I’m never present to hear it.  I’m usually at work.  But because of the holiday, I was able to listen in today.  I like this sermon, and was able to find a link to it on the internet.  If you have time, please take a moment to listen.  I promise it’s worth it.

The title of the sermon is “Forever and Ever, Amen!”  To listen to it, please click here.

This entry was posted in Sound Biblical Truth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forever and Ever, Amen!

  1. Carol says:

    It’s a breath of fresh air to find someone not willing to compromise and will speak against error and expose those who promote the error. It’s a shame that it was not heard at a more timely hour when more are apt to hear it!

    The “positive thinking” camp and the “prosperity” teaching camp lure people with the wrong ideas about God. There is nothing in the Word of God that tells us to think “positive”. Because in this statement, a man can have a “positive” thought about a woman in an inappropriate way Biblically speaking, yet it is “positive” to him because it pleases him.

    The Word teaches us to gird our minds for action, take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ and whatever is pure, lovely, true, of good report, if there is any excellence and anything worthy of praise, let your mind dwell on these things.

    Speaking things out of nothing, as Joyce Meyer had taught is not Biblical. She pointed to the verse where Abraham believed in something that not yet had been. But the error is that Abraham was not the one who came up with the notion of becoming a great nation, and “birthing” it. God told Abraham. So it was God who spoke something that had not yet been as though it had been. Abraham believed it to be so.

    Many people have ideas of wealth and popularity and having a big home and new car as being blessings from God. They think they just think positive and these things will come to them. It’s not God’s will to grant people their wishes as though he’s some sort of spiritual genie that answers their every request.

    It’s a wrong idea of who God is and who were are in Christ.

  2. Laurie says:

    Hi Carol, I appreciate your comment, “Many people have ideas of wealth and popularity and having a big home and new car as being blessings from God. They think they just think positive and these things will come to them. It’s not God’s will to grant people their wishes as though he’s some sort of spiritual genie that answers their every request.”

    What these comfort seekers do not realize is that the trials and tribulations of this life test our faith, they strengthen our faith and draw us closer to our God, bringing a deeper trust and dependency on Him. How many people will cry out to God when their bank accounts are fat, their homes are lavish, and their means of transportation are beyond luxury? They see NO NEED for God on a daily basis, they can’t. They are blinded by their material possessions, and are in a lukewarm state. They are comfortable in this life, with nothing prodding them to cry out to God, nothing driving them to the feet of Christ. There is no spiritual growth in them because they have never been born from above. They are not regenerated, they have no evidence of a changed life. They desire the comforts of this life, scorning the truth, and taking the ‘easy way'[which leads directly to hell].

    These ‘name it claim it ‘con artists never mention Proverbs 30:7-9, “Two things I asked of You, Do not refuse me before I die: Keep deception and lies far from me, Give me neither poverty nor riches; Feed me with the food that is my portion, That I not be full and deny {You} and say, “Who is the LORD?” Or that I not be in want and steal, And profane the name of my God.”
    There must be an even balance in the true believer’s life; all who truly belong to the Lamb will have this balance. Those who desire temporal riches, material possessions and goods will ‘eat up’ the word faith lie. But, it is all part of God’s own plan. They refuse to love the truth, they will not repent, deny self, pick up their cross and follow Jesus. So, God has sent the strong delusion; they take the ‘bait’, hook, line and sinker because they reject the truth. They are ‘easy pickin’s’ and fill their minds with exactly what their hearts desire. Unless God intervenes, they will have received their reward in full.

Comments are closed.